Skip to main content

IFRRO Annual General Meeting 2016

Submitted by veraliah on Tue, 11/29/2016 - 09:27
IFRRO held its Annual General Meeting (AGM) 2016 on 2 November in Amsterdam. The meeting was opened by IFRRO President Mr. Rainer Just, and by the Dutch Minister of Security and Justice, Mr. Ard van der Steur

Photo by Taina Bagmeijer courtesy of Stichting Reprorecht
In his speech Mr. van der Steur commented on the proposed Directive on the modernisation of copyright rules of the European Commission by addressing exceptions, welcoming the extended collective licensing elements and in general supporting the publisher’s rights.
The AGM made changes to the statutes* which were approved unanimously; admitted new IFRRO members (Repromold, SEA Panama, OORP and Bildrecht VBK) held board elections; approved the accounts 2015- 2016 and the budget for 2016- 2017. 
Rainer Just (VG WORT), Yngve Slettholm (Kopinor) and Tracey Armstrong (CCC) were elected as President, 1st Vice President and 2nd Vice President respectively. IFRRO also welcomed to its board new directors representing RROs and authors and publishers organisations. The complete composition of the IFRRO board, including bios of the directors can be found here
Three statements were presented and approved also during the meeting: a statement on the recent changes of the Head of the U.S. Copyright Office, a resolution on Framing presented by Visual Creators, and a resolution on intended broadening of exceptions by the Government in Singapore
A number of member organisations offered an update on recent activities: a new license agreement for Slovenian pre and elementary schools for SAZOR, new licensing agreements for ZARRSO, and recent developments such as a two years blanket licence agreement for reprography of all educational institutions at Fjölís. 
*The changes and nominations are done under the suspensive condition of the approval of the modification by the Ministry of Justice and of the publication in the Belgian Official Gazette.